Seven local supporters of the arts have been appointed directors of the independent Sunshine Coast Arts Board.

The directors of the voluntary Board offer a range of marketing, legal, finance, governance and project management skills as well as their passion for the arts and for the region.

Pictured at the Foundation launch are (from left back) Ferre De Deyne, Kenneth Watkins, Australian Ballet Director of Philanthropy, Robert Forbes, Cr Rick Baberowski, Secretary Tony Sowden and (front) Mayor Mark Jamieson, cellist Louise King, Chair Professor Jennifer Radbourne, Rebecca Grisman and Deputy Chair Sue Sara. (Image: Ben Vos Productions)

Celestine Doyle has been appointed Executive Officer of the Foundation. Council endorsed the establishment of the independent Sunshine Coast Arts Foundation at its August 2018 Ordinary Meeting.

The Foundation’s purpose is to promote the development and prosperity of the arts on the Sunshine Coast. Its vision is for an enlightened and enriched Sunshine Coast region, transformed by philanthropic investment in arts and culture.

SCAF is a Company Limited by Guarantee, registered as a Public Fund and has applied to be a tax-deductible charity. Council has provided three-year establishment funding to the Foundation and it is anticipated that from the fourth year onwards, the Foundation will be self-funding.

Council’s decision to provide seed funding for a philanthropic approach to supporting the arts will provide a mechanism for donors, supporters, investors and patrons of the arts to develop the arts and the arts sector across the Sunshine Coast.

The Foundation is totally independent and Council will remain a founding member of the Foundation only, in line with the Foundation’s constitution.